“Delicious, delicious, meow, meow, meow!” 

Chas was free on Sunday so he kindly traveled to Tokyo to show me Akihabara. I wasn’t sure I’d like this place, the ‘electric town’ famous for being a center for video games and anime. However, I was won over as soon as I walked into a retro game shop and saw all the fun-looking Gameboy and Super Famicom games for sale. 

I owed Chas a fair bit of money so I promised to buy him a nice lunch. He recommended that I should take us to a maid cafe in order to experience a unique Japanese phenomenon. Stepping out of the elevator immediately slams you into an over the top world of maximum cuteness. Our “maid”,  in an energetic and high-pitched act that continued through our meal, taught us a cheer before we even even entered: “Delicious, delicious, meow, meow, meow!” It was unclear if I was supposed to knead my hands like a cat or make a heart shape each time so I paid a lot of attention whenever we cheered. A celebration was made for everything from getting cute animals drawn on our rice omelets in ketchup (a cat for me and a panda for Chas) to picture time. At first I was a little overwhelmed, and frankly relieved at the sight of families and couples there too, but it was a really fun experience and I had a great time. 

Afterwards we spent the afternoon checking out various shops, from coin capsule parlors to anime stores, and playing games at a huge Club Sega (much bigger than Ota’s local Sega World). Since I was going to Saitama the next day to see the JR Railway Museum (I spent the whole day there because I was enjoying it so much), Chas let me crash at his place. In addition to saving me the money that I would have had to spend on a hotel room, it gave me another chance (possibly my last) to hang out together before I leave Japan.

2 thoughts on ““Delicious, delicious, meow, meow, meow!” 

  1. Wow, I am really hoping that “Delicious, delicious, meow meow meow” doesn’t involve EATING cat! That sounds like a really…unique…experience 🙂 Love the descriptions of Tokyo, and I want to hear more about GODZILLA! (Go Go Godzilla!) Give all your friends our best wishes and stay safe and HAVE FUN!!! Love, Alice

    Like

    1. No worries about the cats – I would never harm one. It’s funny because the only references I’ve seen of Godzilla have been on T-shirts in gift shops. The exhibition hall did have an origami Godzilla though. I didn’t understand the Godzilla connection to the Daigo Fukuryu Maru until my friend told me afterwards. I’m going to be seeing some of the most beautiful parts of Japan in the next few days so I’m pretty excited.

      Like

Leave a Reply

