Packing (Part 2)

Yesterday was my last day in the States. I was lucky enough to spend it surrounded by people I care about. I enjoyed lunch with my friends Kevin and Alexis. Later, at my parents’ house, my friends Josh, Fred, and Viviana came over for pizza and a delicious butter cream chocolate cake from Desserts by Gerard, a nearby French bakery. 

Spread out for the first time that night were all the things I was planning on packing in my backpack. Most things, such as the windbreaker, were pretty standard. Others, such as the USB electric shaver (quick to use and doesn’t need a separate adapter!) were a touch more unconventional. 

It’s starting to hit me that I’m leaving. Luckily, I don’t even know how to say ‘hello’ in my first destination (yet). A few times this week, the thought came to my head that ‘you can only do this because other opportunities, like grad school, didn’t pan out.’ Fortunately, the reality that I’m going on vacation for six months and that I won’t have too much trouble getting a job soon set in. Don’t waste any tears on me. 

Leave a Reply

